top of page
photo_choc_amoureux.jpg

At the bottom, we see Stéphanie Beaudoin 6 months after the defining night of the Christmas party. She is preparing the crepes (sic!) for what will be the first “Crepes and Ciders” weekend organized by the Circuit du Paysan de la Montérégie. 

25 YEARS AGO;
THE SHOCK OF LOVE

François Pouliot, founder of the cider house, has just celebrated his 59th birthday. We thought this was a great opportunity to tell you about some of the stages of his hectic life. We continue the story here.

Part 3 of 4.

Context

We remember that the first bottles of Neige (then defined as a sweet cider) were bottled in 1995 at La Face Cachée de la Pomme and that the first label in the world to receive the mention “Ice Cider” was the one affixed to Neige harvest 1997.

The year of ice


In January 1998, the famous ice storm paralyzed the entire province of Quebec. Anyone who witnessed this significant event certainly has an anecdote to tell; François too.

On day 1 of the ice storm, Pouliot, 33, was in the middle of producing an advertisement* for a French client. The filming took place in the ONF (National Film Office) building which then ran alongside the Métropolitain. Following the production contract, the company Les Productions François Pouliot** filmed for 4 days in Montreal on 35 mm film. It must have the film transferred to video in Quebec and send the tapes to Paris for editing by the French director.



 

However, on the first evening of the storm, it will be impossible for François to return to Hemmingford. The roads are blocked. Fortunately, his dogs, two Labradors named McIntosh and Cortland, are looked after by his neighbor. In the chaos of Montreal, François manages at the last minute to get a hotel room, but without lighting or hot water.



 

During the extraordinary days that followed, François traveled back and forth between Montreal and Hemmingford in Montérégie. This large region located south of the island of Montreal will be called the “black” triangle because for 28 days, there will be no electricity. In the old stone house which dates from 1842, François gets by quite well thanks to his gas stove and the wood fireplace. It can thus accommodate 4 members of its family; his father, his stepmother, his half-sister and his 3 year old nephews. They will live with him for 3 weeks.



 

As for the production of the ad, a large generator was rented to ensure filming. But, as for film, due to lack of electricity in the rest of the city, the originals of the film reels cannot be transferred to video. No choice:  they will be delivered by plane carried by arms of the French director upon his return.


 

What about love shock?


11 months later, on December 18, 1998, François went to a Christmas party at the production company Jet Films in Montreal. It's at this party that everything changes. He only sees this girl with short hair. Stéphanie Beaudoin was then 29 years old. She is already the mother of 8-year-old twins. She comes from a visual arts background, she had directed a short film and, with Jet Films, an advertisement; hence her presence... That evening however, she did not want to go to the Christmas party.


Story will continue!

* Publicité pour la chaîne de restaurant Flunch.

** Les Productions François Pouliot va changer de nom pour Yul Films dans les mois qui suivent.

bottom of page

top of page
photo_choc_amoureux.jpg

Dans la partie inférieure du montage, on voit Stéphanie Beaudoin 6 mois après la nuit déterminante du party de Noël (voir dans le texte). On la voit préparer des crêpes (sic!) pour ce qui sera le premier weekend «Crêpes et Cidres» organisé par le «Circuit du Paysan» de la Montérégie.

IL Y A 25 ANS; LE CHOC AMOUREUX

François Pouliot, fondateur de la cidrerie, vient tout juste de fêter son 59e anniversaire. On s'est dit que c'était là une belle occasion de vous raconter quelques étapes de sa vie trépidante.

On poursuit ici le récit.

Partie 3 de 4.

Contexte

On se souvient que les premières bouteilles de Neige (défini alors comme un cidre liquoreux) ont été embouteillées dès 1995 à La Face Cachée de la Pomme et que le premier étiquette au monde à recevoir la mention «Cidre de Glace» a été celui apposé sur le Neige de la récolte 1997.

L'année du verglas
En janvier 1998, c'est la fameuse tempête de verglas qui paralyse le Québec en entier. Toute personne ayant été témoin de cet événement marquant a certainement une anecdote à raconter; François aussi.


Au jour 1 du verglas, Pouliot, 33 ans, est en pleine production d'une publicité* pour un client français. Le tournage se déroule dans l'édifice de l'ONF (Office National du Film) qui longeait alors le Métropolitain. Suivant le contrat de production, la compagnie Les Productions François Pouliot** tourne durant 4 jours à Montréal en film 35 mm. Elle doit faire transférer la pellicule en vidéo au Québec et faire parvenir les cassettes à Paris pour le montage par le réalisateur français.

Or, le premier soir de la tempête, il sera impossible pour François de retourner à Hemmingford. Les routes sont bloquées. Heureusement, ses chiens, deux labradors nommés McIntosh et Cortland, sont pris en charge par sa voisine. Dans le chaos de Montréal, François réussit in-extremis à avoir une chambre d'hotel mais, sans éclairage ni eau chaude. 

Durant les journées extraordinaires qui suivent, François fait les aller-retours entre Montréal et Hemmingford en Montérégie. Cette grande région située au sud de l'île de Montréal sera nommée le triangle «noir» parce que pendant 28 jours, il n'y aura plus d'électricité. Dans l'ancienne maison de pierres qui date de 1842, François se débrouille assez bien grâce à son poêle à gaz et le foyer de bois. Il peut ainsi accueillir 4 membres de sa famille; son père, sa belle-mère, sa demie-soeur et son neveux de 3 ans.  Ces derniers vont habiter chez lui durant 3 semaines.

Quant à la production de la pub, une grosse génératrice avait été louée pour assurer le tournage. Mais, pour ce qui est de la pellicule, faute d'électricité dans le restant de la ville, les originaux des bobines de film ne pourront pas être transférées en vidéo. Pas le choix;  elles seront livrées par avion dans les bras du réalisateur français sur son retour. 


Qu'en est-il du choc amoureux?  
11 mois plus tard, le 18 décembre 1998, François se rend à un party de Noël de la boîte de production Jet Films à Montréal. C'est à cette fête que tout bascule. Il ne voit que cette fille aux cheveux courts. Stéphanie Beaudoin a alors 29 ans. Elle est déjà mère de jumelles de 8 ans. Elle est issue du milieu des arts visuels, elle avait réalisé un court métrage en film et, avec Jet Films, une pub;  d'où sa présence... Or, ce soir-là pourtant, elle ne voulait pas se rendre au party de Noël.  


La suite dans la prochaine infolettre...


* Publicité pour la chaîne de restaurant Flunch.

** Les Productions François Pouliot va changer de nom pour Yul Films dans les mois qui suivent.

bottom of page